Three members of the California Independent Redistricting Commission are visiting Michigan later this week and you have an opportunity to hear first hand about their experiences!

The California Independent Redistricting Commission was formed in 2010 when California passed a successful ballot initiative to take redistricting power away from the Democrat-controlled legislature and put the power back in the hands of Californians.

Democrat Jeanne Raya, Republican Peter Yao and Independent Connie Malloy will be joining Voters Not Politicians to talk about their experience serving on the Independent Redistricting Commission this week. Click the links below for more information or to RSVP to a Town Hall.

Wednesday, January 24th at the Capital Area District Libraries in LansingClick here for more information or to RSVP.

Thursday, January 25th at the GVSU Charles W. Loosemore Auditorium inGrand RapidsClick here for more information or to RSVP.

FridayJanuary 26th at the Troy Community Center in TroyClick here for more information or to RSVP.

Can’t attend an event in person? Make sure you are following us on Facebook to catch a Live event with the California Commissioners this week!

The California Independent Redistricting Commission has been a major success, resulting in the election of new lawmakers and opening the doors to less partisan politicians from both parties. This has lead California to bipartisan solutions that have breathed new life into the state – one reason for the state’s extraordinary economic performance in the last decade.

While other states are sending their gerrymandered election maps to the Supreme Court, Voters Not Politicians is laser-focused on a solution similar to California’s that fixes the process, not just the problem.

Together, we can create a better Michigan where our politicians listen to us, the voters, not their lobbyists or donors. It’s time that voters choose their politicians, not the other way around.

We hope to see you at an event this week!

Thank you,

The Voters Not Politicians Leadership Team - Katie, Nancy, Jamie, Amelia, Kevin, Davia, Lija, John, Walt, Kelly, Greg, Matt, Jordan, Kathy, Paul, Joe, Coby, Kirk, Kristina, Susan, Shari, Jan, Jack, Jessica, Caranne, Emily, and Sam